Skip to content

Beckman-Argyros Award in Vision Research


The Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation is pleased to announce the 2015 Beckman-Argyros Award in Vision Research.

The BECKMAN-ARGYROS AWARD IN VISION RESEARCH is an annual award established in 2013 to honor and celebrate a decades-long friendship of two remarkable men, Dr. Arnold O. Beckman and Ambassador George L. Argyros, and to continue their commitment, dedication and shared vision to make the world a better place. The Beckman-Argyros Award honors Ambassador Argyros for his 22 years of service as Chairman of the Board of the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation and recognizes the special and unique friendship he shared with Arnold O. Beckman for over forty years.

The Beckman – Argyros Award in Vision Research is intended to reward one individual who has made significant transformative breakthroughs in vision research.

In an unprecedented recognition of extraordinary achievement in scientific research and to further support this research, one award will be made annually.  The recipient will receive a total of $500,000 along with a commemorative medallion.

In contemplating potential nominees, please keep in mind that while the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation currently supports one Initiative which focuses solely on macular degeneration (MD); the Beckman-Argyros Award is separate and apart from said Initiative and is not intended to focus solely on MD, but the broader spectrum of vision research.

All of the details regarding the Beckman Argyros Award in Vision Research and Nomination Process may be found at the following website:

Nominations are due: Thursday, December 11, 2014 at 5:00 p.m. PST.

Online Submissions Only:

Please do not hesitate to contact the Beckman-Argyros Program Administrator at if you have any questions.


Categories: News.