Skip to content

Research Funding From Private Institutions/Foundations

Andrew Jackson

We’ve talked about the research funding crisis before here on Webvision with linked editorials, and discussions of the 2015 funding environment. Increasingly, private foundations are becoming more critical to the survival of laboratories given the dramatic reduction in federal funding of research.  Typically, these kinds of funding resources are not enough to completely run a lab, but they help smooth out the bumps, keeping scientists in the game.

We have compiled for you a list of non-federal vision research funding resources for you to explore.  I wish my colleagues good luck and good science.

 

Non-Federal Research Funding Resources

 

Sponsor                                                             Website

Alcon http://www.alcon.com/en/docs/Alcon_Foundation_Guidelines.pdf
Allergan allerganhorizongrants.com
Alliance for Vision Research http://www.eyeresearch.org/
American Federation for Medical Research www.afmr.org
American Diabetes Association www.diabetes.org
American Federation for Aging Research www.afar.org/grants.html
American Health Assistance Foundation www.ahaf.org
American Medical Assn. Fdn. http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/category/3119.html
American Physiological Society www.the-aps.org
Boehringer Ingelheim www.boehringer-ingelheim.com
Brookdale Foundation www.brookdalefoundation.org
Dana Foundation www.dana.org
Donald W. Reynolds Foundation http://www.dwreynolds.org/
Doris Duke Charitable Foundation www.ddcf.aibs.org
Dreyfus Foundation www.dreyfus.org
Ellison Foundation www.ellisonfoundation.org
Eye Bank Association of America www.restoresight.org
Fight for Sight www.fightforsight.com
Foresight Ventures http://www.ipo.com/venture/default.asp?p=IPO
Glaucoma Foundation www.glaucoma-foundation.org
Glaucoma Research Foundation Shaffer Fund http://www.glaucoma.org/research/grf_pilot_proje.html
Glaucoma Research Foundation www.glaucoma.org
Heed Ophthalmic Foundation www.heed.org
Helen Hay Whitney www.hhwf.org
Hope for Vision hopeforvision.org
Human Frontier Science Program www.hfsp.org
International Retina Research Foundation (IRRF) www.irrfonline.org
Juvenile Diabetes Foundation International www.jdf.org
Knights Templar Eye Foundation Knightstemplar.org/ktef
Life Sciences Research Foundation www.lsrf.org
Lions Sight-first Diabetic Retinopathy Foundation www.diabetes.org
MICHR http://www.michr.umich.edu/
Midwest Eye Bank www.mebtc.org/
MOD www.modimes.org
Pew Scholars http://www.pewtrusts.org/our_work_category.aspx?id=194
Pfeiffer Research Grants http://www.fdncenter.org/grantmaker/pfeiffer
Pharma. Res. and Manufacturers of Amer. Fdn. www.phrmafoundation.org
Prevent Blindness America www.preventblindness.org
Rackham Faculty Grants and Fellowships http://www.rackham.umich.edu/funding/
Research to Prevent Blindness www.rpbusa.org
Retina International www.retina-international.org
Rockefeller Brothers Fund www.rbf.org
Searle Scholars http://www.searlescholars.net/
Sloan Research Fellowships www.sloan.org
Society for Biomolecular Society http://www.sbsonline.org/i4a/pages/index.cfm?pageid=1
Thome Memorial Foundation http://www.hria.org/tmfservices/tmfgrants/thome.html
United Mitochondrial Disease Foundation www.umdf.org
Whitaker Foundation (Bioengineering) www.whitaker.org
Whitehall Foundation www.whitehall.org/

 

 

 

 

Image of Andrew Jackson on a US $20 bill courtesy: Bryan William Jones, Ph.D.

Categories: Funding Opportunities.

Tags: , , ,